Medinipur Lok Sabha Constituency

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91  

Medinipur Lok Sabha constituency (formerly, Midnapore Lok Sabha constituency) is one of the 543 parliamentary constituencies in India. The constituency centres on Midnapore in West Bengal. All the seven assembly segments of No. 34 Medinipur (Lok Sabha constituency) are in Paschim Medinipur district.

1 Assembly segments
2 Election results
3 Elections prior to 2009

Assembly segments

As per order of the Delimitation Commission issued in 2006 in respect of the delimitation of constituencies in the West Bengal, parliamentary constituency no. 34 Medinipur is composed of the following segments:

Egra (assembly constituency no. 218)
Dantan (assembly constituency no. 219)
Keshiary (ST) (assembly constituency no. 223)
Kharagpur Sadar (assembly constituency no. 224)
Narayangarh (assembly constituency no. 225)
Kharagpur (assembly constituency no. 228)
Medinipur (assembly constituency no. 236)

Prior to delimitation, Midnapore Lok Sabha constituency was composed of the following assembly segments:

Patashpur (assembly constituency no. 215)
Midnapore (assembly constituency no. 223)
Kharagpur Town (assembly constituency no. 224)
Kharagpur Rural (assembly constituency no. 225)
Keshiari (ST) (assembly constituency no. 226)
Narayangarh (assembly constituency no. 227)
Dantan (assembly constituency no. 228)

Election results

General Election, 2009: Medinipur
Party Candidate Votes % ±%
CPI Prabodh Panda 493,021
Trinamool Congress Dipak Kumar Ghosh 445,004
BJP Pradip Patnaik 52,061
BSP Asok Kumar Golder 12,216
Independent Sanjay Kumar Mishra 11,092
JMM Nepal Das 10,324
Independent Partha Addhya 6,974
Independent Amit Moitra 4,290
RDMP Mukul Kumar Maiti 4,016
Independent Sukumar De 3,498
Turnout 1,042,496 82.54
CPI hold Swing

 Indian general election, 2009
West Bengal summary
Party Seats won Seat change
Trinamool Congress 19 Increase18
Indian National Congress 6 Increase0
Socialist Unity Centre of India (Communist) 1 Increase1
Communist Party of India (Marxist) 9 Decrease17
Communist Party of India 2 Decrease1
Revolutionary Socialist Party 2 Decrease1
Forward bloc 2 Decrease1
Bharatiya Janata Party 1 Increase1

Source: List of successful candidates in General Elections 2009 to the 15th Lok Sabha
Statitical Report on General Elections 2004 to the 14th Lok Sabha

Elections prior to 2009

Results of elections prior to 2009 are summarised below.


Year Winner Party
1952 Bharat Lal Tudu Congress
Durga Charan Banerjee Jana Sangh
1957 Narasingha Malla Ugal Sanda Deb Congress
Subodh Hansda Congress
1962 Gobinda Kumar Singhu Congress
1967 N.Maity Bangla Congress
1971 Subodh Chandra Hansda Congress


Year Winner Runner-up
Candidate Party Candidate Party
1977[10] Sudhir Kumar Ghosal Bharatiya Lok Dal Narayan Choubey Communist Party of India
1980 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India Sudhir Kumar Ghosal Indian National Congress (I)
1984 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India Ajit Kumar Khanra Indian National Congress
1989 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India Gouri Choubey Indian National Congress
1991 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India Birendra Bijoy Malladev Indian National Congress
1996 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India D P Roy Indian National Congress
1998 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India Manoranjon Dutta Bharatiya Janata Party
1999 Indrajit Gupta Communist Party of India Manoranjon Dutta Bharatiya Janata Party
2001 Prabodh Panda Communist Party of India Manoranjon Dutta All India Trinamool Congress
2004 Prabodh Panda Communist Party of India Rahul (Biswajit) Sinha Bharatiya Janata Party

Ozg Political Consulting
 Phone # 09811415605-16-27-60-81-91